Add to Cart
Cart 0
Independent Medical-Surgical Facilities V3 EN

Independent Medical-Surgical Facilities V3 EN

$100.00 CAD

HSO’s Independent Medical/Surgical Facilities Standards apply to non-hospital facilities where invasive or operative procedures (including diagnostic and interventional endoscopic procedures) are performed with the administration of local/regional anesthesia, general anesthesia, or conscious sedation.

These standards do not apply to dental procedures or to minor dermatological procedures, including the removal of benign moles and cysts, nevi, seborrheic keratoses, fibroepithelial polyps, hemangiomas, and neurofibromata.

HSO’s Medical/Surgical Facilities Standards contain the following sections:

  • Building an Effective Facility
  • Maintaining a Safe Facility
  • Having the Right People
  • Delivering Medical/Surgical Services
  • Maintaining Client Information
  • Monitoring the Safety and Quality of Medical/Surgical Services

The Independent Medical/Surgical Facilities Standards have been designed to address the level of risk according to the type of anesthesia provided to clients. While most of the criteria included in these standards are applicable to all facilities offering invasive or operative procedures, some criteria apply only to those facilities providing a specific level of anesthesia. Facilities answer a series of questions at the beginning of the accreditation process to determine their level:

Level 1 facilities provide only local anesthesia to clients. Facilities classified as Level 1 are responsible for the general criteria only (those applicable to everyone).

Level 2 facilities provide local anesthesia or sedation (including intravenous (IV) sedation or analgesia where the client remains responsive and breathes without assistance. Facilities classified as Level 2 are responsible for the general criteria and any additional criteria labelled as applicable to Level 2.

Level 3 facilities provide local anesthesia, sedation (including IV sedation or analgesia where the client remains responsive and breathes without assistance), general anesthesia, or major regional anesthesia. Facilities classified as Level 3 are responsible for all criteria included in the standards.

The applicability of criteria to each facility level is indicated throughout the standards.

    Standards that are available for purchase through this E-Store are to be considered HSO standards and may not be applicable for assessment purposes at this time. If you are part of an assessment program (such as Qmentum) with one of our partners such as Accreditation Canada, NIAZ, IQG or IQMH your assessment body will provide you with the assessment standard prior to the standard being incorporated into your program and used for surveys or assessment purposes. For information on assessment standards, or to obtain the version specific to your program, please contact your assessment provider.

    Requesting printed standards: Standards purchased online are delivered as printable PDF downloads. If you would like a copy printed and shipped to you, please email

    Share this Product

    More from this collection